Corey Taylor To Release First Solo Album ‘CMFT’

31st July 2020 | Category: Concerts

Corey Taylor has announced his debut solo album ‘CMFT’. The album will be released by the Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman on October 2 via Roadrunner Records. 

The record includes a mix of newly written tracks as well as songs that date back to his teens. It was recorded at Hideout Studio in Las Vegas with producer Jay Ruston. Christian Martucci (guitar), Zach Throne (guitar), Jason Christopher (bass), and Dustin Robert (drums) all played with Taylor on the record.

Along with the new album announcement, the Slipknot frontman has shared two new songs from it. Speaking on the new songs, Taylor said:
“One is the overall ‘crusher’ single – really great with a big vibe, and the other one is just as fun on the other end of the spectrum that people are going to hear and they are going to lose their minds!”

The first single ‘CMFT Must Be Stopped’ features Tech N9ne and Kid Bookie and comes with the music video. The second track that is available for listening is ‘Black Eyes Blue’.

In an interview with Knotfest, Taylor stated that his new solo material is “probably one of the best things I’ve ever written”.

The record is “everything I wanted it to be,” he said, adding: “There’s some Slade in there, there’s some Johnny Cash, there’s some Alice In Chains. I mean, big choruses, fun rock, just huge solos — huge solos! It’s incredible. I, actually, two years ago, started teaching myself piano just so I can record this song that I wrote for my wife, and I was able to play it and record it. And it’s really good — it’s probably one of the best things I’ve ever written.”

As for how many songs will be on the album, Taylor said: 

“Thirteen. We did thirteen originals. We recorded seven covers, and then we did six acoustic versions of the originals that we put together. Or [maybe] it’s five. I can never keep that straight. Maybe it’s six [covers] and six [acoustic versions] — I can’t remember.”

The album is now “finished” and it contains thirteen originals and twelve covers.

Comments are closed.